Dashboard
MTLSDHome
Email Access
PowerTeacher
Public Folders
Site Administration
AESOP
MyPDC
School Messenger

Student Support
School Counseling
Chapter 15
ESL
Gifted Support
Instructional Support
Naviance
Psychological Services
Reading Support
Special Education
STRIVE
Standardized Testing
District Home

Login

 

 

     Chapter 15    
   

Mission
The Mt. Lebanon School District provides services and or accommodations to protected handicapped students which foster student mental and physical development and ensure students have equal opportunity to participate in school programs and extracurricular activities.
     

   

Chapter 15 Coordination

 

Director of Special Education 

Ms. Connie Lewis

412-344-2012

clewis@mtlsd.net

 

 

           

Special Education Department Secretary 

Ms. Sandra Kwiecien

412-344-2044

skwiecien@mtlsd.net

 

 

Chapter 15 School Building Contacts

Mt. Lebanon High School 

Mr. Brian McFeeley
412-344-2003

bmcfeeley@mtlsd.net

 

Hoover Elementary School
Ms. Mary Ann Schnirel

412-276-7411

maryannschnirel@mtlsd.net

 

Andrew Mellon Middle School
Mr. Christopher Wolfson

412-344-4122
cwolfson@mtlsd.net

Jefferson Elementary School
Mr. Marc Thornton

412-344-2167

mthornton@mtlsd.net

 

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 

Dr. James Walsh
412-344-4120
jwalsh@mtlsd.net  

Lincoln Elementary School
Dr. Marybeth Irvin

412-3442147

jmirvin@mtlsd.net

 

Foster Elementary School
Mr. Jason Ramsey

412-344-2162

jramsey@mtlsd.net

 

Markham Elementary School
Mr. Rob Freil

412-344-2152

rfreil@mtlsd.net

 

Howe Elementary School
Ms. Michelle Murray

412-344-2157

mmurray@mtlsd.net

 

Washington Elementary School
Ms. Mary Kay Davis

412-344-2142

mdavis@mtlsd.net

 

Programs & Services for Protected Handicapped Students

Protected Handicapped Student
To meet the criteria of a protected handicapped student a child must be of school age and have a physical or mental disability that substantially limits or prohibits participation in or access to an aspect of the student's school program. 

Criteria and Process for Protected Handicapped Student Status

Evaluation
A child can be referred for evaluation of protected handicapped status either by the school district or the parents of the child.  If the parents are requesting an evaluation, their request needs to be presented to the school district in writing.  If the school district is requesting an evaluation, then a written notice must be sent to the parents.  Any pertinent information needed to make the decision, including medical records, needs to be presented to the school district.

Service Agreement
If the parents and the LEA agree that the student needs to have a service agreement, then the service agreement is written and executed by a representative of the LEA and one or both parents.  The service agreement must specify the related aids, services, and accommodations that the student will receive, and the date the services will begin and end.  If appropriate, a service agreement should also identify procedures to occur in the event the student has a medical emergency.

Provision of Services
The Mt. Lebanon School District shall provide each protected handicapped student enrolled in the district, without cost to the student or family, those related aids, services, or accommodations which are needed to afford the student equal opportunity to participate in and obtain the benefits from the school programs and extracurricular activities without discrimination, and to the maximum extent appropriate to the student's abilities.

Print Page 2014 Mt. Lebanon School District Terms of Use